Home & Gifts Q&A

What Are The Different Markings Used To Identify Real Gold?

by @ 5:22 am on November 11, 2020. Filed under Q&A

Gold Markings. This means that something that is 24-karat gold is made up of 24 parts gold. All other gold marks are a percentage of 24 parts in this order: 22K (.917), 18K (.750), 14K (.585 or .583), and 10K (.417). Other gold purities and markings are used worldwide, but are not common in the United States.

What do the 750, 585, and 417 markings on gold jewelry mean?

The gold markings of 750, 585, and others refer to the purity of gold and correspond with a caratage. Every type of gold (from 8K to 24K) has both a caratage and a decimal fineness, both referring to the purity of gold in a gold alloy.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://www.brittbybritt.com/what-are-the-different-markings-used-to-identify-real-gold.html/trackback

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

[Home & Gifts Q&A is proudly powered by WordPress.]